A recce ride around London

With my friend Iain D, I went for a lovely ride around London last Saturday.  We rode our Bromptons to Northampton station, caught the 0850 and we were at Euston in under an hour.  The purpose?  To recce a ride we’ll offer to CTC Northampton in the summer.

I’d therefore better not, at this stage, disclose our route in detail.  Suffice to say that we are old-school – no fancy GPS gizmos on our handlebars; Iain D had worked out a route and written it down; I’d added one or two amendments and pinned my copy to my ‘bars (small print, though, so I had to wear my reading glasses throughout the day!).

The route is a mixture of main “tourist sights” (but they do look different from a bicycle saddle) and some obscure and eccentric sights (which are well worth seeking out).  It will be much appreciated, I’m sure.  Some uncaptioned photographic clues:

IMGP5859IMGP5860IMGP5868IMGP5880IMGP5882IMGP5889IMGP5891

And shortly after photographing Virginia, we encountered this!

http://homepage.ntlworld.com/pete.meg/wcc/facility-of-the-month/March2013.htm

Isn’t it brilliant?

Well, that’s it for the moment.  I hope I’ve tickled your curiosity buds!

We caught a very fast train back from Euston, the 1649 gets into Northampton at 1741 – 52 minutes.

One thought on “A recce ride around London

  1. Pingback: Advance information for our London Ride – Saturday 1st June | CTC Northampton

Leave a Reply

